Skip to content

JV 11, Los Al B 3 (Lax-a-palooza)

April 27, 2013

To close the 2013 season, Trabuco Hills Girls Lacrosse Junior Varsity won their final match — 11-3 over Los Alamitos B — at the Lax-A-Palooza tournament at Laguna Hills High.

The finale would be against the always tough Los Alamitos Griffins.  This seemed to be the one team the girls did not want to face.  However, the long nap in the afternoon sun bode well for the Mustangs.  They came out in excellent form. 

Crisp passing and deft shooting started this contest off.  Sam Ransom scored first followed by goals from Irene Petruzzi, Caroline Rabourn and Kaylyn Voytilla.  Jacquie Cronkrite reprised her role in goal and shut out the Griffins for most of the first half.  Before the Griffins could take stock of the Mustangs they were in a deep hole at 6-0.  The Mustang defense was equally as effective as the offense.  Timely steals from Shelby Siano resulted in two Mustang goals.  Also, the shut down man-to-man defense from Kody Shelton, Hannah Moller and Caroline Rabourn kept the Griffons from even getting shots off on goal.  Kaylyn Voytilla always seemed to be around the ball and was a key force in moving the ball up field to the Mustang attackers. 

Both Sam Ransom and Kaylyn Voytilla had their first hat tricks of the season.  Most teams wish they could finish their season like the Mustangs did today.  The Mustangs ran away with this one in a well-played victory winning 11-3. 
Goal scorers of the game were Sam Ransom (3), Kaylyn Voytilla (3), Irene Petruzzi (2), Caroline Rabourn (2) and Erin Beall.

Highlights of the season:
  • Mustangs’ record was 9-7-3!
  • Won 3 and tied 1 at Trabuco Scramble!
  • Hosted Sticks & Stones with arecord 24-team field!

It was a great season for the JV Mustangs team.  The hallmark qualities of the Mustang team this season was their aggressive hard-nose defense.  As the season progressed their passing improved dramatically and great things are on the horizon for these girls.
Team captains Caroline Rabourn and Shelby Siano led Irene Petruzzi, Kaylyn Voytilla, Kody Shelton, Erin Beall, Shannon Smith, Jordan Cisowski, Lauren Liberman, Hannah Moller, Jacquie Cronkrite, Alyssa Ortega, Lexus Maestas, Sam Ransom, Bailee Griffin, Ashly Bradshaw and Rachel Gillett to a fantastic season.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: